Press Kit

Press Photos | Documents | Video

Press Photos

Press Photo

Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez
File Size: 1,154,390 bytes (2048 x 2048 pixels)

Press Photo

Photo Credit: Evan Chapman
File Size: 2,331,721 bytes (4736 x 3157 pixels)

So Percussion & Caroline Shaw

Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez
File Size: 651,497 bytes (2560 x 1852 pixels)

Press Photo

Photo Credit: Stefan Cohen
File Size: 459,246 bytes (2048 x 1367 pixels)

Press Photo

Photo Credit: Stefan Cohen
File Size: 777,601 bytes (2560 x 1709 pixels)


Flyer Art

File Type: PDF (12,500,006 bytes)


Julia Wolfe - "Forbidden Love" for Sō Percussion (trailer)

'Forbidden Love'
A String Quartet for Sō Percussion, by Julia Wolfe

Co-commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and Carnegie Hall. Video by Four/Ten Media.
Video Type: YouTube

Vijay Iyer's TORQUE for So Percussion

A “torque” is a twisting force, and Vijay Iyer’s new mallet quartet for Sō Percussion is a dizzying display of virtuosity and inventiveness. In this four-movement work the renowned pianist and composer adapts his unique concepts of rhythm to percussion keyboards (two marimbas and two vibraphones). Breathtaking accelerations, ambiguous and wonky odd-number grooves, a lyrical marimba chorale, and straight-ahead 4/4 reminiscent of Prince mark a journey that only this combination of artists could imagine.
Video Type: YouTube

So Percussion: The Keyboard Reimagined

Sō Percussion has commissioned a refreshing new generation of percussion keyboard music. Steve Reich’s Mallet Quartet from 2009 kicked off a subgenre of pieces for two marimbas and two vibraphones. In that vein, fantastic new works by Vijay Iyer, Donnacha Dennehy, and Jason Treuting demonstrate the possibilities of this satisfying combination of wood and metal.
Video Type: YouTube

So Percussion Amid the Noise Promo

Amid the Noise by Jason Treuting
Promo video by Four/Ten Media
Video Type: YouTube

Drumming by Steve Reich

Performers: SoSI 2018 Percussionists
July 28, 2018 - Lewis Center Complex Forum
Video Type: YouTube

Sō Percussion: Lincoln Center Offstage

It’s amazing what you can make with wood. Watch Sō Percussion play Steve Reich’s “Music for Pieces of Wood” at Makeville Studio, a woodworking shop in Brooklyn.
Video Type: YouTube

Water, Wine, Brandy, Brine - by Viet Cuong

"Water, Wine, Brandy, Brine"
for percussion quartet (15 crystal glasses, lightly amplified)

Composed by Viet Cuong
Performed on May 18, 2015 at Princeton University by Sō Percussion
Video Type: YouTube

From Out a Darker Sea, Sō Percussion

Thursday 18 August 2016
St John's Church, Seaham

More than 200 people packed into St John’s Church in Seaham on Thursday 18 August to see New York-based group Sō Percussion perform From Out A Darker Sea, a piece of music created for and inspired by the people of East Durham, commissioned by East Durham Creates and produced by Forma Arts.
Video Type: YouTube

"Music for Wood and Strings" | Sō Percussion at TED

Sō Percussion creates adventurous performances with new, unconventional instruments. Performing "Music for Wood and Strings" by Bryce Dessner of The National, the quartet plays custom-made dulcimer-like instruments that combine the sound of an electric guitar with the percussionist's toolkit to create a hypnotic effect.
Video Type: YouTube

TRAILER: Bryce Dessner "Music For Wood and Strings"

Trailer for Evan Chapman's HD video of So Percussion's live performance of Bryce Dessner's "Music for Wood and Strings."
Video Type: YouTube

David Lang's "man made," Sō Percussion with the LA Phil

On October 2nd, 2014, Sō Percussion and the LA Philharmonic with Gustavo Dudamel conducting premiered David Lang's "man made," a concerto for percussion quartet and orchestra.
Video Type: YouTube

Steve Reich with Bryce Dessner & , Sō Percussion - Clapping Music I A Take Away Show

Steve Reich with Bryce Dessner & Sō Percussion - Clapping Music I A Take Away Show
Video Type: YouTube

So Percussion: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert

The minute its members were ensconced in our office, So Percussion started borrowing items to add to its set, from an amplified cactus and bells to a mug filled with spare change and an empty padded envelope. The ensemble performs original pieces and the works of John Cage at the Tiny Desk.
Video Type: YouTube

So Percussion performs Reich's "Mallet Quartet"

Mallet Quartet (2009) is scored for two vibraphones and two five octave marimbas. I had never written for five octave marimbas extending down to cello C. On the one hand I was delighted to have the possibility of a low bass and on the other hand apprehensive since just slightly too hard a mallet that low can produce noise instead of pitch. Eventually, after a bit of experimentation, this was well worked out.
Video Type: YouTube

Sō Percussion: neither Anvil nor Pulley by Dan Trueman

neither Anvil nor Pulley
for laptop/percussion quartet (with turntable) commissioned by Sō Percussion
Video Type: YouTube

Sō Percussion: Steve Mackey's IT IS TIME

Sō Percussion previews composer Steve Mackey's It Is Time.
Video Type: YouTube